Monday, August 16, 2010

Voices of the True Woman Movement

I have an exciting opportunity provided by True Woman to review the new book Voices of the True Woman Movement.  I will be posting my thoughts on each chapter, instead of the book as a whole.  The book's contributors include John Piper, Mary Kassian, Joni Eareckson Tada, Janet Parshall, Nancy Leigh DeMoss, Karne Loritts, and Fern Nichols.

A Peek Inside

Buy Voices of the True Woman Movement Table of Contents:
  • Part 1: Foundations of True Womanhood
    Chapter 1: The Ultimate Meaning of True Womanhood by Pastor John Piper
    Chapter 2: From Him, through Him, to Him by Nancy Leigh DeMoss (sample chapter)
  • Part 2: The Battle for True Womanhood
    Chapter 3: You've Come a Long Way, Baby! by Mary Kassian
    Chapter 4: For Such a Time as This by Nancy Leigh DeMoss
  • Part 3: The Refining of True Womanhood
    Chapter 5: A Woman after God's Own Heart by Janet Parshall
    Chapter 6: Choosing Faith in Seasons of Change by Karen Loritts
    Chapter 7: God's Jewels by Joni Eareckson Tada
  • Part 4: Reclaiming True Womanhood
    Chapter 8: Leaving a Lasting Legacy through Prayer by Fern Nichols
    Chapter 9: A Call to the Counter-Revolution by Nancy Leigh DeMoss  

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Review: Happily Ever Laughter

Happily Ever Laughter: Discovering the Lighter Side of Marriage

Edited by Ken Davis


Happily Ever Laughter is a book of real life short stories from married couples including Ken Davis, Chonda Pierce, Bob Stromberg, Daren Streblow, Kendra Smiley, Jeff Allen, John Branyan, Rhonda Rhea, David Dean, Dave Veerman, and Neil Wilson.  

I have to say I was a little disappointed by this book.  I really enjoy Ken Davis and his comedy spots on the radio called Lighten Up.  I think he is a funny man and I think that is why I was bummed.  I thought the stories in the book were fun, but not as funny as I was expecting.  Happily Ever Laughter would be a good book for the coffee table or *whisper* restroom.  The stories are well written and good for a quiet moment in your day.



Here is the first chapter, so you can see what you think.


I was provided a free copy of this book for the purposes of review, the opinions expressed are my own.